The Senate made a show of support for the Keystone XL Pipeline on Friday, when a bipartisan majority voted in favor of an amendment to urge its approval.

The amendment, proposed by North Dakota Republican Sen. Jon Hoeven, would “establish a deficit-neutral reserve fund to promote … the construction of the Keystone XL Pipeline.”

It passed by a 62-37 margin, with 17 Democrats joining Republicans in supporting the measure.

Among those were several Democratic senators who face re-election next year in red-leaning states: Sens. Mark Begich of Alaska, Kay Hagan of North Carolina, Mary Landrieu of Louisiana, Mark Pryor of Arkansas, and Max Baucus of Montana.