Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) was elected Thursday by Republican lawmakers as the next House majority leader.
Check it out:

McCarthy, 49, defeated conservative Rep. Raúl Labrador (R-Idaho) to become the second-ranking House Republican and replace Rep. Eric Cantor (R-Va.).

GOP aides announced McCarthy’s victory. Vote totals were not provided.
Rep. Steve Scalise (R-La.) was elected to replace McCarthy as the House GOP Whip less than an hour later. He defeated two other candidates in the first ballot amid speculation it might take two ballots to decide the contest.